Iowa-Section of the Institute of Food Technologists Minutes April 17, 2003 Newton, IA

Executive Committee Meeting

<u>Attending</u>: Tony Pometto, Dave Raife, Lester Wilson, Tonya Armstrong, Cheryll Reitmeier, Janis Hochstetler, Linda Svendsen, Theresa Walters

1. Wilson moved acceptance of the minutes, Hochstetler seconded. Motion passed.

2. Reitmeier reported that secretarial support would include sending meeting announcements via e-mail and the Iowa-section website. Some members need meeting announcements mailed to them. Some newsletter information could be available in paper form at meetings. Dues for Iowa-IFT membership are \$12/year. Sherri Angstrom (secretarial support) will be trained about updating the website. Sherri will be paid through the FSHN Dept; Iowa-section will pay FSHN.

3. Raife gave the Treasurer's Report; balance \$10,934.75. He voiced some concerns that no financial support had been received from Iowa industry for the scholarship funds. Janis suggested discussing this issue at the summer executive committee meeting. Dave has sent letters to companies in Iowa. Armstrong suggested e-mail messages.

4. Committee Reports

a) Scholarships and Awards: Hochstetler reported that there were 5 applicants for undergraduate scholarships (\$500) and no graduate student applications. There was one applicant for the Iowa Industry scholarship and 2 nominations for the Outstanding IFT Member award.

b) Nominations: Wilson presented nominations for 2003-4 officers. Mark Love, Chair-elect, Linda Svendsen, Councilor, Terri Boylston, Alternate Councilor, Elaine Wolf, Member-at-large, Janis Hochstetler, Member-at-large. Secretary and MFPC representative positions are still needed.

c) Students: Theresa Walters reported about student activities at Veishea, College Bowl team, sale of T-shirts, participation in the IFT Chapter of the Year competition, product development and representatives for next year. They requested some financial support to attend IFT for participation in the College Bowl competition. Expenses were estimated to be \$2000; IFT will provide \$1000. Armstrong moved to support the students with \$1500, Wilson seconded, motion passed. Student representative for 2003-4 is Natalie Weinsetel.

Toshiba Traynham reported that she and Dave Stevenson worked on increasing IFT visibility and student participation during the year by informing students of upcoming meetings, events and scholarships via e-mail, FSHN 580 presentation, Food Science Club meetings, and collection of dinner fees from students prior to meetings. Student participation has increased because of their efforts. Traynham suggested a planned social hour for students to increase interaction between students and members, a Food Science Jeopardy or Quiz Bowl for all members, or a formal question & answer period for increased contact between students and professional members.

d) Midwest Food Processing Conference: Wilson reported that MFPC will be held in Chicago in 2003 with Wisconsin as host. The focus of the conference is food processing and Larry Johnson, CCUR at ISU, will participate. Bob Olson is the Iowa representative. Iowa will be the host of MFPC in 2004.

e) 2004 Suppliers Night: Raife volunteered to chair the committee. The location was discussed. Turnout needs to increase. Would Des Moines be a better location?

5. New Business

Executive meeting for summer was discussed. It is usually held before IFT at the Fireside Inn in Toledo, IA. Svendsen will attend IFT as the Iowa Councilor. Pometto will send a letter to IFT about the substitution and Armstrong will send the information to Linda. Joe Sebranek would like to be nominated for the IFT Executive Committee.

Adjourned at 6:15 pm

Business Meeting

Thirty members viewed a videotaped explanation of cheese production at Maytag Dairy Farms, Newton, IA, sampled and purchased products. The meeting and dinner was held at the DMACC Conference Center, Newton, IA.

The business meeting was conducted by Cheryll Reitmeier in the absence of Pometto and Larson. The Undergraduate award recipient was Ching Fong, the Iowa Industry Award recipient was Jasmine Kuan, and Linda Svendsen was awarded the Iowa-section IFT Outstanding Member award.

Jeannifer Heath introduced Dr. Barbara Rasco, IFT Distinguished Lecturer, from Washington State University. Her topic was Bioterrorism: What is the Risk to Our Food Supply?

Respectfully submitted, Cheryll Reitmeier

8-12-03

Iowa-Section of the Institute of Food Technologists Executive Committee Meeting May 29, 2003 NASA Food Technology Commercial Space Center, Ames, IA

<u>Attending</u>: Dave Raife, Linda Svendsen, Cheryll Reitmeier, Janis Hochstetler, Mark Love, Teresa Walters, Tony Pometto, Terri Boylston

1. Raife proposed the budget for 2003-4. There were no donations for the Food Industry scholarship this year. Wells Blue Bunny and Mrs. Clark's made donations in the past year. Love will check with Barbara Rasco about her expenses; Boylston took her to lunch. Reitmeier will get a bill for printing and mailing the newsletter from the FSHN Dept. A secretarial expense of \$800/year is expected for Sherri Angstrom to assist the secretary. Sherri will be paid through the FSHN Dept. Hochstetler moved to accept the budget revision; Boylston seconded; motion passed.

2. The issue of the newsletter via website and e-mail announcements was discussed. Postcards will be sent to all in Sept. and Nov. We have received an Excel file of names and e-mail addresses from IFT. Janis, Gina Hendrickson, Cheryll, Linda and Sherri will meet during the summer to organize the secretarial duties. If a member does not have an e-mail address, a letter will be mailed.

The dinner announcement rates will be the usual member fee and an additional \$5 late fee. Attendees who are non-members will be encouraged to join the Iowa-section.

3. Committee assignments were discussed; Love and Pometto will confirm appointments.

Audit/Finance: Dave Raife

Scholarship/Awards: Cheryll Reitmeier, Dave Raife

Nominations: Tony Pometto, Bob Olson or Scott Seibert

Student Affairs: Toshiba Traynham, Theresa Walters (to Dec. 03)

Hospitality: To be determined

Membership/Newsletter/Publicity: Janis Hochstetler, Sherri Angstrom

Midwest Food Processing Conference: Lester Wilson, Bob Olson

Historian: Bob Olson

Science Fair Judging: Pat Murphy, Terri Boylston, Andrea Peck

Food Industry and Suppliers Night: Dave Raife

4. Hospitality issues were discussed. Love will get a committee for greeters and to collect money for dinner. Reservations must be made for dinner. With the electronic meeting announcement, ISU members can send checks to Love and others will mail. If a reservation is made, but the member did not attend, \$5 will be charged.

5. The meeting and program will be held 3rd Thursdays of Sept, Nov. Feb. and April. MFPC will be Nov. 11 in Chicago. The dates will be Sept. 18, Nov. 20, Feb. 19 and April 22 (date changed to avoid Easter) for Food Industry and Suppliers Night. Several tours (Papettis in Corning, Cargill in Mason City, Heinz, Meredith Publishing, U.S. Coffee) and speakers (Maria McKean, Pam Pierson, Patty Judge) were suggested. Love will work on the program. Love moved, Raife seconded a motion to make April 22, 2004 Food Industry Night in Des Moines with the emphasis on value-added processing. The motion passed.

Love suggested that the Nov. 20 meeting be cancelled to support MFPC. Svendsen suggested that a vote be postponed until after another MFPC report. We could use funds to support student attendance at MFPC.

6. Svendsen reviewed the IFT deadlines: May 1 for new Officers Report, July 15 for Annual Report, completed by the secretary, and July 15 for Treasurer's Report by treasurer.

Meeting adjourned at 3:15 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Cheryll Reitmeier 8-15-03

Newsletter composed by Janis Hochstetler Contributors: Mark Love and CheryII Reitmeier