Iowa Section IFT Executive Committee Business Meeting April 16, 2009 Ankeny, Iowa 3:00 p.m.

Members present: Boylston, Wilson, Randall, Burnett, Coller, LaGrange Gilbert, Kellen, Anderson, Brewer

- 1. Motion by Gilbert & second by Wilson to approve Minutes of the February 19, 2009 Executive Board meeting. Motion carried.
- 2. LaGrange submitted the Treasurer's Report. Balance 4-16-09 = \$10,318.73.
- 3. Burnett had no report. It was suggested she do the Annual Report by May.
- 4. Wilson reported on tonight's program. Tour, champagne reception and "surprise menu" for dinner will follow. DMACC speakers and Awards are after dinner.
- 5. ISU Food Science Club news by Tim and Janelle:
  - a. College bowl is going to National IFT competition in CA!
  - b. Veishea fudge can be purchased today.
  - c. Product Development Team & "Fruitsoylicious" is also going to National IFT in CA! Travel money is needed for both teams. Motion by Wilson to give \$1000.00 to both teams from IA section. Second by Brewer. Motion passed. LaGrange will write a check to FSC for the teams.
  - d. There are 26 students attending tonight, a good turn out!
  - e. Club Trip to Chicago with 18 students toured Newlyweds, Edelong and the new Sara Lee Product Development Lab.
  - f. There is one more FSC wrap-up meeting after Veishea & before summer.
- 6. By-Laws, taxes and Audits were discussed. Ross submitted By-Laws to National. Also, Form 990 was filled out and sent in by Ross to IRS.
- 7. Membership retention & recruiting was not discussed because Lopez was absent.
- 8. Scholarship Committee members Randall & Gilbert will present five scholarships to ISU students tonight.
- 9. Science fair winners will be invited to attend a meeting next year. They are Amanda Post (sanitation) and Erin Brasser (health effects of cranberries).
- 10. Long Range Planning was tabled until the May transition meeting. We tentatively plan to meet May 21th in Grinnell at the Westside Diner.
- 11. Nominations for IA-IFT 2009-2010 are: Chair-Elect- Lester Wilson, Secretary-Kate Gilbert, and Members-At-Large-Dawn Canon and Theresa Swaim.
- 12. No other business was presented. Motion by Gilbert and second by Wilson to adjourn. Motion carried. We adjourned for our DMACC Culinary Tour, Reception, Dinner and Awards ceremony.

Submitted by: Toni Burnett, Iowa Section IFT Secretary

## **Business Meeting**

Speakers Anderson and Gospodarczyk from DMACC gave highlights of their Culinary program in Ankeny and upcoming Iowa events in Enology. Following the speakers, we presented scholarships to ISU students and IA-Section Awards. The scholarship winners are: Industry \$1000 Kemin Scholarship to Charlwit Kulchaiyawat, Industry \$500 Burke Corporation Scholarship to Yanjun Liu, Industry \$250 J.M.Swank Scholarship to Molly Mayer, a \$500 Iowa Section IFT Undergraduate Scholarship to Molly Mayer and a \$500 Iowas Section IFT Graduate Scholarship to Yanjun Liu. Ross Jabaay was presented with the Iowa Section Leadership Award for 2009 and Toni Burnett received the Iowa Section Outstanding Volunteer Award for 2009. Boylston thanked all for their participation this year and encouraged continued service for IA-IFT in the future.