IFT Iowa Section Executive Committee 2018-2019 - Institute of Food Technologists Iowa Section

IFT Iowa Section Executive Committee 2018-2019

Immediate Past President

Krista Gent

Grain Processing Corporation - Associate Food Scientist


"I love touring all of the different food industry facilities in Iowa."



Laura Klein

Aerotek - Scientific Account Manager


"My favorite part about IFT is learning more about food science and networking with students and professionals within the industry!"


President Elect

Todd Van Thomme

Nyemaster Good P.C. - Shareholder and Patent Attorney


"My favorite parts of the IAIFT are the friendly professional networking, the programming and the ability to meet really intelligent (and did I say friendly) food scientists that make up the membership. I also really enjoy learning about all the various food science companies and innovative products produced right here in Iowa."



Mackenzie Leith

Kemin Industries - Marketing Specialist


"My favorite part of IAIFT is the ability to connect with colleagues across Iowa. As someone who doesn't have much of a science background, I always learn a ton from my peers in IAIFT and gain knowledge I wouldn't have otherwise."



Shannon Coleman

Iowa State University - Assistant Professor / Extension Specialist


"I enjoy connecting with colleagues around the state."



MEMBER-AT-LARGE ('17 - '20)

Catherine Erickson, CFS

UL - Food Engineer


"I enjoy learning about all aspects of the food service industry whether that is from great presenters and / or industry tours."


Member-at-large ('17 - '20)

Jace Lee

Fuchs North America - Midwest Regional Sales Manager


"The opportunity to network and connect with old colleagues / classmates, while learning about the new products and technology in the food industry is the best part about Iowa Section IFT."

Member-at-large ('19 - '22)

Courtney Fransen

Eurofins - Project Manager: Human Nutrition


Graduate Student Representative

Jessica Schaumburg

Iowa State University Graduate Student - Food Science & Technology Major


"The thing I love most about IAIFT is having the opportunity to tour many different kinds of production plants and facilities. It's like the Food Network show Unwrapped, but in real life! Getting exposed to those kinds of environments as a student has been crucial to my growth as a food scientist."


graduate Student Representative

Leah Gilman

Iowa State University Graduate Student - Food Science and Technology, M.S. Major


"My favorite thing about IFT is all of the opportunities that IFT provides and meeting new people in the industry!"

2019 Copyright Iowa Section Institute of Food Technologists. All Rights Reserved.